We knew the Malaga stop of the Vans BMX Pro Cup 2018 would be different to 2017... This year, Vans chose Malaga to be the final round. The world championships. The main event. The big deal. What a place for it! The Ruben Alcantara skatepark in Malaga is a masterpiece – no two ways about it.

The whole weekend was highly entertaining, but it was the final, held on Sunday afternoon, that everyone was there for. Ten pre-seeded finalists were joined by the top ten qualifiers to make a twenty-strong final, battling it out under the relentless sun in southern Spain.

Take a look at every bike in the final in our gallery above. Which is your favourite?

Vans Press Release:

The 2018 Vans BMX Pro Cup World Championships celebrated a monumental finish as the series crowned Larry Edgar and Teresa Azcoaga the 2018 world champions of BMX park terrain in Málaga, Spain, earlier today. Defending Vans BMX Pro Cup World Champion Larry Edgar demonstrated some of the best BMX riding the world has ever seen with colossal airs and technical tricks to earn back-to-back Pro Cup World Championship title wins. Spanish native Teresa Azcoaga upheld her series lead to earn the first-ever women’s BMX park terrain championship title, cementing a historic moment for the BMX community.

Edgar remarked with pride, “The level of riding across all stops this year has been incredible, so to be the overall winner is truly special.”

In the main event finals, 2017 Vans Pro Cup Málaga event winner Chase Hawk prevailed yet again with steadfast bike control throughout Rubén Alcántara’s park to take home his second Málaga victory. Dennis Enarson tracked close behind, putting down a huge tail whip transfer into the vert wall to secure a second-place finish, in addition to taking the Best Trick award. In third place, Corey Walsh showcased ingenuity, unlocking some of the course’s most unique lines paired with enormous back-to-back transfers to earn the Best Line award. 

USA’s Perris Benegas revealed the day’s most powerful riding for the women’s division, ruling the course with speed and grace to claim her first Pro Cup podium win, while Spain’s front-runner Teresa Azcoaga turned up the heat in her last run to clench second place and the overall series championship title. Pro Cup newcomerLara Lessman maintained her semi-finals momentum, surpassing the stacked field with advanced tricks and big airs to place third.

“I’m completely blown away, I can’t believe I won the world championship title,” Azcoaga gratefully expressed. “To go from only riding my local park one year ago, to winning the series is a dream.”


  • 1. Chase Hawk
  • 2. Dennis Enarson
  • 3. Corey Walsh
  • 4. Gary Young
  • 5. Boyd Hilder
  • 6. Larry Edgar
  • 7. Pat Casey
  • 8. Kevin Peraza
  • 9. Matt Cordova
  • 10. Alex Hiam

HIGH AIR – Alejandro Vela

BEST TRICK – Dennis Enarson with his huge double whip transfer into the vert wall

VANS BEST LINE – Corey Walsh with his massive back-to-back transfers

  • 1. Perris Benegas
  • 2. Teresa Azcoaga
  • 3. Lara Lessmann
  • 4. Nina Buitrago
  • 5. Nikita Ducarroz
  • 6. Anahi Valentina
  • 7. Hannah Roberts
  • 8. Jesse Gregory
  • 9. Angie Marino
  • 10. Lotta Gruber

BEST TRICK – Perris Benegas with her huge toboggan transfer